ESL Jobs - ESL, EFL, TEFL, TESOL Teaching Jobs
  • FREE Weekly ESL Jobs
  • ESL, EFL, TESL, TEFL -- Get weekly updates of the Hottest New Jobs direct to your inbox as well as easily apply to new openings!
  • Enter your Email:

ESL Jobs Forum
"Where New and Seasoned ESL Professionals Come Together To Network . . . Share. Listen. Learn."

FAQIndex    FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups      RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

DELTA or MA?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ESL Jobs Forum Forum Index -> Getting the ESL Job...
View previous topic :: View next topic  
indecisive lady

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 6:04 pm    Post subject: DELTA or MA? Reply with quote

Hello,
I'm a CELTA qualified teacher with a few years experience and I am currently based in the UK. I'm debating the merits of the DELTA and the MA in Applied Linguistics and TEFL. The aim is to both improve as a teacher and improve permanent job prospects.
Has anyone any opinions to offer?
Thank you!
btownsend

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 4:50 pm    Post subject: DELTA or MA Reply with quote

Hello,

As you have some teaching experience, it strikes me that the MA is the better qualification to go for, so that you add depth to your theoretical background. The academic qualification will probably open more doors for you.

But practical considerations may also come into play. The DELTA is more likely to be both cheaper and available, say, as an evening course.

I think the DELTA was more useful in the days when the masters' level qualification, in this field, was not widely available but now you have a wide choice of courses and study formats. So, if you can, I'd go for the MA.

Hope this helps!
Ella

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2006 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,